MCP or Not?

Draft: research not yet reviewed. Hidden from search engines and production.

Community onlyClaude connector: yes

Ableton Live MCP server & Claude connector

Does Ableton Live have an official MCP server or Claude connector?

Community only

As of October 2026, there is no official MCP server that controls Ableton Live. Claude's directory lists Ableton Knowledge, an Ableton-made connector that only searches manuals and release notes, and calls itself experimental. Live control comes from community servers like ahujasid/ableton-mcp, which have telemetry on by default.

Last checked

Verdict and evidence

What we checked
Ableton Knowledge (docs search only)
Published by
Ableton (per Claude directory) (unknown)
Runs
Hosted (remote)
Sign-in
Not documented
Stage
preview
Plan
Not stated.

Evidence

What an AI can do in Ableton Live

Read

  • Search the Live manualsearch_live_manual
  • Search the Push and Move manualssearch_push_manual
  • Search Note manual and release notessearch_release_notes
  • Search knowledge base, videos and transcriptssearch_knowledge_base

From the publisher’s documentation for the version we checked. Not every tool is listed.

Setup

Claude (claude.ai / Desktop)

Add Ableton Knowledge from Claude's connector directory.

Source

Safety check

  • Unknown

    Publisher verified

    Directory page says Anthropic verified and Made by Ableton, but it also calls itself a prototype and not an official Ableton product. No Ableton-owned page confirming it was found.

  • Unknown

    Auth model

    Not stated on the directory page.

  • Pass

    Write and delete access

    Only search tools are listed; it cannot control Live.

  • Unknown

    Tool-description injection scan

    Directory text only; tool descriptions were not read from a live server.

  • Unknown

    Repo maintenance

    No repo linked.

Other options

Built and maintained by third parties, not Ableton Live. Check the safety notes before connecting one to a real account.

ableton-mcp (ahujasid)

ahujasid · Runs locally · None

Read session and track info · Create MIDI and audio tracks, clips and notes · Change tempo and device parameters, load instruments · Delete clips · Start and stop playback, fire clips

  • ⚠ Publisher verified: Independent developer, not Ableton.
  • ⚠ Write and delete access: Can create and delete clips and tracks and change device parameters in your open Live set; no read-only mode.
  • ⚠ Tool-description injection scan: Several tool descriptions address the AI (for example telling it when to call set_dataset_consent, submit_intent and rate_last_action). Anonymous telemetry is on by default, and opt-in dataset recording may log prompts and MIDI.

FAQ

Is there an official Ableton Live MCP server?

Not one that controls Live. Ableton's connector in Claude's directory only searches manuals and release notes.

Is Ableton Knowledge a Claude connector?

Yes, it is listed and Anthropic-verified in Claude's directory, but it is docs-only and describes itself as experimental.

How do I control Ableton Live with AI?

Through community servers such as ahujasid/ableton-mcp, which installs a Remote Script in Live and runs via uvx.

Is the community server private?

It sends anonymous telemetry by default, and an opt-in mode can record prompts and MIDI to a dataset. Check its README before enabling.

Is it free?

The community server is MIT-licensed; you need your own Ableton Live license.

Last reviewed .

Compare Ableton Live

Something changed?

Vendors ship MCP updates often. If Ableton Live launched, changed or retired a server, tell us and we will re-check it against primary sources. Submit a correction.

New official MCP servers, weekly

One short email when vendors ship, change or retire an official server or Claude connector. Checked against primary sources, like every verdict here.